What is the significance of blood alcohol level in New Jersey?

  • In New Jersey, the prime factor determining your legal exposure in a DUI case is your blood alcohol level.
  • If your level is under 0.08, it is not a per se violation under NJ DWI statutes; however, you can still be liable, depending on things like your driving behavior, your performance on a field sobriety test, and the like.
  • A 0.08 to 0.10 level will expose you to a 90 day loss of license. A level of 0.10 or higher will expose you to a 7-12 month loss of license and potentially installation of an ignition interlock device in your car.
  • It is absolutely critical that you obtain from the police a copy of the alcohol influence report. If they refuse, or you think the results are wrong, go to the nearest hospital and get a blood alcohol level test, which can provide you with a defense if you end up in court.