New Jersey Governor Chris Christie has made an important change in legislature regarding child support laws in the state. Starting on February 1, 2017, some parents will become exempt from their child support obligations. In order to be eligible for the termination of making child support payments, you must be the non-custodial parent of a child who is between the ages of 18 1/2 and 22 3/4 years old by February 1, 2017. If this is the case, you will be mailed a letter from the state notifying you that your obligation to pay child support is terminated on May 1, 2017. In addition, if your child turns 19 after August 1, 2017, you will receive a letter of child support obligation termination 180 days prior to their 19th birthday.
All of these changes in legislation have a tendency to confuse those who are effected by them. If you are unsure of whether or not your child support payments will be terminated, you should seek legal counsel with an experienced family law attorney in New Jersey. Your attorney can take a look at your individual situation and tell you whether or not you may be eligible to stop making payments. However, it is incredible important that you do not stop making payments until you get an official letter from the state of New Jersey that instructs you to do so. If you fail to make payments that you still have an obligation to, you may find yourself in serious legal trouble. There are severe consequences that you will face if you fail to make child support payments.
The law firm of Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C., is composed of experienced family law attorneys throughout the state of New Jersey. Please contact the office for a free initial consultation and get any questions answered.