New Jersey understands the seriousness of driving while intoxicated and aims to take drunk drivers off the road. When a person is convicted of a driving while intoxicated charge, they may be facing a post-conviction intervention to assist in fighting substance abuse and ensure that the person never drives drunk again. Depending on the severity of the DUI conviction, the offender may face up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
For those who have been sentenced to a 12-hour Intoxicated Driver Program, you will go through the following process. You will spend six hours each day for two consecutive days going through a detainment, education, and screening process that determines what additional treatment you will be ordered. Those who have been sentenced to the 48-hour IDRC program will have a similar process but for the lengthened time period. You must also be sure to pay the associated fees of the Intoxicated Driving Program and fulfill any of the treatment requirements that have been assigned to you.
If you neglect to attend your Intoxicated Driving Program days, fail to complete the program, or fail to pay your fees when they are due, you may be sentenced to two days in jail and face a further license suspension until you have fulfilled all of the requirements.
Throughout the program, you will be educated about the stages of alcoholism, how it impacts your relationships, the New Jersey Intoxicated Driving Law, and others problems associated with alcoholism. If you have gotten a DUI in New Jersey, speak with an experienced attorney who can provide you with assistance.
The law firm of Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C., is composed of experienced attorneys throughout the state of New Jersey. Please contact the office for a free initial consultation and get any questions answered.