Delaware, like many other states, takes driving under the influence very seriously. Any drivers who have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher may be subject to driving under the influence charges. However, that is only applicable to drivers who are age 21 or higher, as that is the legal drinking age across the country. Drivers who are not yet 21 years old are subject to Delaware’s Zero Tolerance Law. This law states that if a driver who is under the age of 21 has any amount of alcohol in their blood system and gets behind the wheel of the car to drive, they will be subject to very serious penalties.
Some of these penalties include that the driver will have their driver’s license revoked for at least two months if it is their first offense of driving under the influence of alcohol. Of course, with every subsequent offense, the penalties become significantly more severe. So, if a driver is under the age of 21 but has had multiple offenses of driving while intoxicated, they may be subject to a license revocation period between 6 months and 12 months. If the individual doesn’t have a driver’s license, they will face a $200 fine for the first offense and a fine between $400 and $1000 for subsequent offenses.
If you require an experienced attorney in Delaware, contact us today.
The law firm of Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C., is composed of experienced criminal defense attorneys throughout the state of Delaware. Please contact the office for a free initial consultation and get any questions answered regarding criminal charges and procedures.