For each alcoholic beverage that an individual consumes, their blood alcohol content will rise. Typically, people don’t actually know what their blood alcohol content is before they get behind the wheel of a car. For example, if a 25-year-old male who weighs 180 lbs drinks six 12 oz. beers within 3 hours, they have an estimated blood alcohol content of 0.09 percent. This individual should not drive until they are sober. If an individual operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher, they can be arrested for driving while intoxicated.
New Jersey takes driving while intoxicated very seriously. Even if a person does not have an unlawful blood alcohol content but refuses to submit to a chemical breath test if asked to do so by law enforcement, they can be charged with a DWI. The penalties for driving while intoxicated with a BAC between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent are as follows:
- A license suspension for 3 months
- Prison for up to 30 days
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC)
- A fine between $250-$400
- $230 IDRC fee
- $100 drunk driving fund fine
- $100 to AERF
- $1000/ year for 3 years
- $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
If the individual has a BAC higher than 0.10 percent, they will face increased consequences and possibly even the installation of an ignition interlock device. If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, contact our firm today.
The law firm of Mattleman, Weinroth & Miller, P.C., is composed of experienced attorneys throughout the states of New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Delaware. Please contact the office to schedule a free initial consultation and get any questions answered regarding your specific case.