What’s important to know about DWI in New Jersey?

The penalties for driving under the influence of either drugs or alcohol are very similar, but the police procedure involved in making this determination are very different. In the case of drugs, the arresting officer needs to bring a drug recognition expert to the scene to aid in making a determination. For the state to […]

Read More

What is the significance of blood alcohol level in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, the prime factor determining your legal exposure in a DUI case is your blood alcohol level. If your level is under 0.08, it is not a per se violation under NJ DWI statutes; however, you can still be liable, depending on things like your driving behavior, your performance on a field sobriety […]

Read More

What if I am charged with posession of drugs in my car?

If you’re charged with drug possession in your car, there are three critical factors affecting the outcome: 1) the amount of drugs found; 2) how the drugs were packaged (personal use or for distribution); and 3) whether you have any previous drug convictions. Separate from the drug possession charge, you can be charged with a […]

Read More

What if a restraining order was filed against me?

If you are slapped with a temporary restraining order, the final hearing will happen in an extremely short period of time (days), so consult an attorney immediately. Read the order and understand clearly what you cannot do. You can’t contact the victim in any way at all – not directly, not through third parties, not […]

Read More

What does it mean to be cited for a refusal and what are the penalties?

If you are pulled over for suspicion of DUI in NJ, by law you MUST comply with the request to provide a breath sample for a Breathalyzer; you do not have a choice. If you refuse, you will be cited, not only for DUI, but for the separate offence of refusal, which carries similar penalties […]

Read More

What do I do if I am pulled over for DUI in New Jersey?

If you are pulled over for suspicion of DUI, be cooperative; provide your license, registration and insurance card. Answer questions honestly but concisely; do not elaborate or provide any information not directly asked for. You may be asked to get out of the car if the officer suspects you’ve been drinking, to do some field […]

Read More

What are the penalties for third or subsequent DUI offense for New Jersey?

The minimum penalty for a third or greater DUI conviction in NJ is 6 months in jail, 10 year loss of license, time in the intoxicated driver resource center, and fines and penalties 90 days of the jail sentence and be spent in an in-patient treatment program, but you must have that in place before […]

Read More